May is Steampunk and Neo-Victorian Month here at the Floating Academy. We’ve been a little behind in our posts, but we are all collectively interested in putting together some ideas about the phenomenon, which seems to be gathering steam – pun intended, of course! – in academic circles of late.

As an avid reader of Victorian literature, I have a keen interest in exploring the rise of steampunk and the neo-Victorian. As a scholar, however, I can’t get over the feeling of being overwhelmed by all things neo-Victorian. It seems everyone has a steampunk fetish these days. I don’t even know what to write about the phenomenon, so let’s begin with a few questions.

First of all, why steampunk and why now? Second, what is to be learned from neo-Victorian enthusiasm for steam-inspired gadgets, technologies, and instruments? I’ll have more to say in an upcoming post. For now, let me know if you have any answers to these questions about steampunk and the neo-Victorian. While you’re drumming up some postulations and queries, check out this steampunk website.

2 thoughts on “Steampunk and Neo-Victorian Month

  1. Thanks for opening up the discussion Daniel! I love steampunk keyboards. My typewriter has been hiding out in my closet for years now, and I doubt I’ll ever use it again. But a PC retrofit looks like a very attractive idea.

    I wonder what you think about the cosmetic nature of much of the steampunk design out there? I love the aesthetic, but images like this, and especially the Colin Thompson design I’ve posted below, seem to superficially alter the interface without substantially revamping the workings of the machine.

  2. Pingback: Gregory Brophy

Leave a Reply

